Village Green Bears 8 Ball Club
The Village Green Bears were formed from an amalgamation of the Rokeby Puma's & Rokeby Gold.
The original members of the "Bears" were
Steve Keefe (SETEBA Life Member), Glenn Wessing, Max Wessing, Dean Smith, Shane Plunkett & Jeremy Kent.
Over the years other members have joined the team until they now includes
John Finch (SETEBA Life Member), Derek Wessing, Tony Andrews, Brendon Jackson & Darren Wessing.
Steve Keefe and Glenn Wessing are Life Members of the Village Bears.
The Village Green Bears have played in numerous finals series in the SETEBA and Eastern Shore Summer rosters, winning many Grand Finals on the way, listed below are some of their achievements.
2001 SETEBA B Division Runner Up
2003 SETEBA B Division Premiers
2005 SETEBA A Reserve Premiers
2005/06 Summer Roster Premiers
2008/09 Summer Roster Premiers
2010 SETEBA A Reserve Premiers
2010/11 Summer Roster Premiers
2011 SETEBA A Reserve Premiers
The Village Green Bears are famous or (infamous) for there boisterous enthusiasm and loud cheering whilst playing and have every season caused major upsets by defeating the some more highly fancied teams. All publicans enjoy a visit from the "Bears" as the boy's really do love a beer or two. The Bears are renowned for being a well organised club raising funds during the season for there end of season trips & BBQ's with many night's practising and having a beer at "Jacko's". This year the Bears who are full of Collingwood & Carlton supporters (say's a lot really) went to see the Pies vs Blue's with Finchy, Plunk, Jezza & Jacko all very happy unlike Keefey, Squeak, TA & Derek. The Bears would like to thank there Patron the Village Green Tavern & Christine Jackson & Co for their effort in fund raising every year.
The 2011 version of the Village Green Tavern Bears
Brendon "Jacko" Jackson, Tony "TA" Andrews, Steve "Skins" Keefe, Derek Wessing, Jeremy"Jezza" Kent & Johnny Finch
Max "Diesel" Wessing, Dean "Deano" Smith & Glenn "Squeak" Wessing